Thursday, 23rd Nov 2017

«

»

Jul 06

OurPractice Login

The following information explains what happens when access to an OurPractice Login account appears to be blocked.

The OurPractice system has several security features including one that in the event of a user trying to access the OurPractice Login area with the wrong username or password a number of times within a short timespan, access to the account login area will be blocked for a period of time. The user will receive an access denied message during this period and the system logs these events for security monitoring purposes.

In the event of receiving an access denied message, the practice is advised to wait a period of time for access to the account login area to timeout, at which point access to the account login area will be unblocked. The practice should ensure that all users who require access to the OurPractice Login area are supplied with the correct username and password and that they are aware of this security feature.

The point of this security feature is to limit the rate of login attempts by a client, assisting with the mitigation of bruteforce account and password guessing attempts.  This feature blocks a client from making further attempts after a specified limit on retries is reached, making a brute-force attack difficult or impossible.

This is an OurPractice security feature which is in place for the benefit of the practice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

Return to Top ▲Return to Top ▲